About the West Texas Science Center

The West Texas Science Center in Abilene is dedicated to increasing awareness of science, mathematics, and nature conservation among the citizens of Abilene.

The Center is a 501 (c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to increasing awareness of science, mathematics, and nature conservation among the student and adult populations of Abilene, Texas. It presently has three principal activities:

  • Bringing outstanding presenters from the various scientific disciplines to Abilene to lecture to the general public and work with the general academic population in the various public and private schools of the area
  • Conducting field trips and workshops for students in various scientific areas
  • Providing project support for promising student research

The organization has no paid staff, and all funds received go to programmatic activities. The West Texas Science Center invites your interest and support.

Friends of Lake Kirby (FoLK)

The WTSC sponsors the Friends of Lake Kirby (FoLK) initiative. The FoLK initiative is focused on conservancy, fundraising, coordination of activities, trail enhancement, community support, improvement projects, environmental education programs, kids outdoor recreation outings, water quality research, lake community cleanup, and promoting education around Lake Kirby and the Lake Kirby Nature Park.


For membership in the West Texas Science Center and the Friends of Lake Kirby Support Campaign please see our Patreon site at: https://www.patreon.com/wtsc

Donations: Project Support

WTSC has the ability to award grants to students and organizations to assist in scientific research and other projects that will elevate public understanding of science in our lives. As a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, we can offer contributors appropriate tax treatment of their donations and the confidence that their funds will go to those projects that will accomplish the stated goals of the organization

West Texas Science Center Officers and Executive Committee

Board Members:

Rick Hammer Ph.D, Past President
Charles Ivey, Ph.D, Past President
Bill Wright
Kathy Strong
Joel Brant, Ph.D
Tom Lee
Zane Laws
Adam Nunn
Patrick Miller, Ph.D


Adam Nunn- President
Jon Martinson- Treasurer
Janis Mergele- Secretary

Previous Board Members and Advisors:

Allan Frizzell
Scott Clark
Jay Packer
Judy Godfrey, MLA
Larry Millar
Phil Morehead
Meredith Matthews
Gaile Thompson
Rusty Towell, Ph.D
Julie Napier
Johnny Biiznak, MD
Paige Schneider
Larry Barnett
Donna Long Wolfer
Doug Robison
Mary Lee Bartlett, Ph.D

Contact Us

Our Mailing Address:
3478 Catclaw Dr. #102
Abilene, TX. 79606
United States


Join our Mailing List

© 2014-2023 West Texas Science Center. All Rights Reserved Contact the WTSC